Filter your Music with Audacity: Audacity gives you access to change most of the settings based on your preferences with the help of Preferences dialog toolbar in Audacity. If you are using Audacity in Windows then you would find it under Audacity menu section.
Want to know what’s hidden in the Preferences dialog box? It includes various sections, all accessible for free. Take a look at the settings that you can change for your audio track using Preferences dialog:
- Spectrogram: The spectrogram display of your audio track can be change as per your choice.
- Mouse: Let your mouse command the shortcuts.
- Device: Isn’t it great to have this option in Audacity. Here you can select your audio host or recording channel. MIDI playback on your system.
- Playback setting: This helps you cut the length and effects of your music track.
- Libraries: Here you can download LAME content with ease.
- Format: Choose the options for conversion in between sample rate and format.
- Recording: With this setting, newly recorded tracks can be name easily along with latency, sound-activated recording, and playthrough.
- Effects: Sort effects as per preferences, either enable or disable using LADSPA, VAMP., LV2.
Storing the preferences
In Audacity, preferences are stored in a configured file, namely audacity.cfg. It is a text file, which you can change anytime. And, you can see this file in Audacity’s folder of application data.
The place of storage varies depending upon the system which you are using. For example:
It isn’t as complicated as it looks here. And, your preferences will be saved anyway in the software. However, you just have to a little searching to find your saved file.
By default, the settings will remain the same even if you upgrade the previous version of Audacity or reinstall it. Therefore, you do not have to worry about losing your preferences. Because, Audacity has the ability to retain the settings from the previous version.
If you experience any crash or disturbing behaviours after resetting preferences from Preferences toolbar, you must reset the preferences to default settings by directly exiting from Audacity. Or, you can also delete audacity.cfg file from Audacity. However, this does not happen often in Audacity. But, you should still be careful while using Preferences dialog.
There will be time where you wish to have a change in the tune or simply to fix your mistakes in the entire track. And, there might be numerous reasons to edit your recorded track in your digital workstation. Let it be any reason, Audacity’s Preferences dialog offers you great comfort to change default settings and set your own settings to make the song track even more cheerful.
Read more articles.